Value

Zacharias0
Level 10
Las Vegas, NV

Value

"Value" I find to be a very subjective category to rate a host on. Its been a category that I've struggled with for awhile and AirBnB only states to add more free stuff or lower the price. Well, I've added more free things- bottles of champagne, robes, bottled water and cookies, but I'm still scoring lower than id like in this category. Lowering the price only seems to bring out truly ungrateful thrifty people who lack all manners of communication and social graces.

We need more specifics! With that said I'm happy to hear about the new review metrics and that if a guest is rating lower than 5 stars they are finally telling us why they have chosen that score. Often times a guest believes there destination should adjust to the amount they can spend. I work in the hospitality industry and I see it day in and day out: cheap people going on vacation and every single purchase is like pulling teeth and they balk at the price of a cup of coffe. This mindset seems to extend to the value portion of hosts ratings. The guest will knowingly book my place at $49 a night arrive, enjoy their stay and say they felt it wasn't a good value. In what regards? You got exactly what you paid for. If you wanted something cheaper wouldn't you have booked something cheaper? Oh, wait that cheap place was 20 mins away from me. You can't have it all people.

The value aspect is further skewed because the price we set isn't the price the guest pays. I could set my rate at $39/night but after fees and such the rate per night the guest sees may double and the host takes the fall for it.

We are at a place in time where people on vacation are looking to stay at a place for less than $49 a night and local hotels charge close to that in resort fees.

32 Replies 32
Dawn62
Level 1
Halifax, Canada