Waiting on pre-approval guest and an instant booking has occured

Meisha1
Level 2
Cape Woolamai, Australia

Waiting on pre-approval guest and an instant booking has occured

Hello,

I am new to hosting and first time experiencing pre-approval.

I have pre-approved a guest, however hadn't blocked the dates and now have and instant booking.

Do I honor the instant booking or give the pre-approval the 24hrs to confirm?

It was my error to not block the dates.

15 Replies 15
Kelly149
Level 10
Austin, TX

@Meisha1 not necessarily your error, a booking is not a booking until it is a booking....

IB makes us all subject to First Come, First Served. This isn't your fault, it is a function of the system we have been given.

I'd honor the booking

Meisha1
Level 2
Cape Woolamai, Australia

Thank you Kellie.

This has helped, and glad I've experienced this situation at a not so peak time.

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Meisha1 A lot of hosts treat booking requests with a first come, first served policy: whoever completes the booking first gets the date. A lot of guests who send inquiries never complete their booking: they're checking out a few different hosts, or they don't book for some other reason. I would by no means assume that the first guest who enquired was going to complete the booking.

If you do decide to cancel the new Instant Booking, make sure you contact Airbnb to do so. Never cancel on your own or penalties will be levied.

https://www.airbnb.ca/help/contact_us

Meisha1
Level 2
Cape Woolamai, Australia

This is a great help, Thank you

Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

A bird in the hand and all that jazz...

Cor3
Level 10
Langerak, South Holland, Netherlands

Hi @Meisha1,

This not only due to IB. Reservation(-Request)s always prevail over Inquiries.

When you would have cancelled the reservation, the dates would have remained blocked anyway 😞

So no chance for the other guest to book anyway.