What are the biggest mistakes you made as a new host?

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

What are the biggest mistakes you made as a new host?

I am a "new" host to Airbnb having just started in January of this year, but have done event planning at our space prior to using this platform. I am still learning from my mistakes daily 🙂 What advice would you give to new hosts about mistakes you have made  and things to watch out for? Any best practices to share?

For my own part I DEFINITELY recommend having a doorbell camera. It has been incredibly helpful for us and saved us a few times. I would love to hear what others share from their own cache of hosting wisdom. 

21 Replies 21
Dimitar27
Level 10
Sofia, Bulgaria

The biggest mistake is to get addicted:
- to open the site every 30 min to check for new bookings,
- to watch the phone app like a zombie,
- to jump from the bed at night, receiving new reservation in your dream,
- to calculate your earnings 2 months ahead,
- to watch your booking rate with bloodshot eyes and
- to shake like a leaf before every guest review, slowly transforming your mind in to a victim of your own fears.`

I'm crying, man XD

Ann489
Level 10
Boise, ID

@Laura2592   Biggest mistake I made as a new host was to allow myself to be bullied by a guest.  We had two chicks book our guesthouse who brought two toddlers with them(despite our no-children policy).  I should have canceled their reservation the minute they showed up with the little ones in tow--big mistake.  They ended up "beautifying" our couches with a sharpie, one of them fell into the unsecured in-ground pool--not to mention the mess that was left behind. 

I have learned since to speak up when a guest violates our house rules, and I am not afraid to give a guest the boot if need be.  😉

Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

The biggest problem starting was desperation. 

I did not yet have confidence that Airbnb would fill my calendar.

I didn't say "No" to discounts.