What do I do if a snoring guest causes others to leave

What do I do if a snoring guest causes others to leave

I'm pretty new to hosting, and I wasn't able to find other articles that catered to my situation. I rent the upstairs of my home to Airbnb. There are three bedrooms that are next to one another. And one of the rooms there is a guest who has an unnaturally loud snore. I almost wouldn't even call it a snore as they are constantly gasping and sometimes even yelling in their sleep. The noise is extremely loud. My daughter who sleeps in the basement can hear them. They booked the room for 13 nights, I have received complaints from the other guests, but luckily none so far have canceled and left. I have provided them with ear plugs, but I don't know if they're using them or if they don't like using earplugs in general. I'm worried because during the times that the snoring guest is here I will have others arrive as well. I am at odds here. Do you think I should let the upcoming guests know that there is a loud snoring person? What do I do if I start having cancellations due to her snore? Help!!!

12 Replies 12
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Bernarda9 This guest is better suited to an entire place listing, not a shared scenario. I would address it with the guest as tactfully as possible, but with a view to having them find a more appropriate place to stay. You can send the guest a change reservation request with a new check out date. They will be refunded nights not spent.

Hi Colleen,

Does the guest and host get the Airbnb fees etc back in this scenario?

Thanks,

Rob

@Robert5844  No. No one gets Airbnb fees back.

@Bernarda9 @Colleen253   I'd be extra cautious about making the guest relocate, as the cause of the hardcore snoring (e.g. obstructive sleep apnea) might be considered a disability if the guest made a discrimination complaint. Snorers aren't a protected class under civil law, but Airbnb's policy often goes further than the law obliges it to.