What do you say to guests who ask for a refund on a nonrefundable booking?

Angela1583
Level 2
Durham, NC

What do you say to guests who ask for a refund on a nonrefundable booking?

Hi everyone! I am new to hosting and I was wondering what people say to guests who request full refunds on non-refundable or only partially refundable bookings? So far I have had two people ask for refunds -- one who canceled the same day and one who cancelled a week in advance after realizing they booked the wrong dates. Both were nonrefundable. I went ahead and refunded the second guest but not the first. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to say when these situations arise? I hate to just take someones money, but it also leaves me with potential income loss. 

Thank you!

6 Replies 6
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Angela1583 I offer to refund if I can re-book the dates. I will also refund if the booking was made shortly before cancellation (like the day before) as long as no costs were incurred by me, like having to get my cleaner in. Otherwise, I would just tell them that unfortunately, you're not able to offer a refund, as per the terms of their booking. It's okay to say no.

One thing to bear in mind though: if your guest cancels on the day they're scheduled to arrive, they will still be able to review you. As a new host, you may want to refund to avoid a bad review, but I'd use your discretion on that.

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Angela1583 

Unfortunately, this is one of the issues of the new Non refundable cancellation policy. Your guest choose this policy in order to get a 10% discount off the nightly rate. Now they want to cancel and will still do anything to get their money back. Including leaving you a negative review if canceled on the day of arrival.