What's for free and can I get a discount on that?

Brett3
Level 10
Gold Coast, Australia

What's for free and can I get a discount on that?

I have noticed an increase in guest inquires hunting down a mega bargin. I accept we all love a bargin, but it feels like some users are just taking things that step to far. I see enquires along the lines of: "If you give me this, this and this plus airport transfers, I would be interested in booking" I have been hosting for many years and am starting to wonder where the Airbnb marketing is pushing for 'new' business. I am not going to mention the attitude and lack of manners that often comes with the request.

14 Replies 14
Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

"Thanks for your interest. Sorry I cannot offer a discount." 

Sometimes, it is best to be a robot and just send this reply with no thought.

You are lucky to discover to that they are undesirable right away - no lost time.

There are some guests who like to book and then take their own "discount" - overstay, take towels, bring in extra non-paying guests.....

I see you have great places that are getting booked and that you are experienced.

Hopefully your increased requests for discounts is nothing more than bad luck.

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Brett3interesting.. nobody ever asked me for a discount... obviously we should rise our prices 😄 :)))

Patrícia63
Level 4
Santos, Brazil

No começo pediam descontos, depois fui agregando valores à hospedagem, experiência e me profissionalizando e não pediram mais. 

Nina204
Level 6
Pittsburgh, PA

I read an article from a major newspaper not long ago how to manuever Airbnb.  Number 1 or 2 was don't hesitate to ask for a discount.  😞     I see a big trend now  I would say at least half of my inquires or more are for discounted stays.

@Brett3

I usually tell those types of guests "Clearly you're not a good match with us or our home. Good luck finding a place that meets your needs."