What's your check-in procedures? Do you ask guests to sign a contract or fill an information card?

Luana130
Level 10
State of Bahia, Brazil

What's your check-in procedures? Do you ask guests to sign a contract or fill an information card?

I'm new to hosting, I haven't asked for anything from my guests so far, but someone suggested I shoud ask them to sign a contract and/or fill out a card with their information like at hotels... What do you guys do?

3 Replies 3
Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

Hi Luana140, 

Welcome to the community.

This is a worldwide community with hosts from many different countries, with many different types of listings. Some countries have very strict regulations about information that must be collected from a guest, others are much more relaxed.

So likely you will get a wide variety of answers from a wide variety of people with a wide variety of listings! 

I'm in Australia and I am currently investigating a new insurer for my property. One of the brokers has a requirement that the names, phone numbers and email addresses of all guests are collected prior to the stay.      I mostly do this anyway, but If I move insurers I will have to be much more formal and vigilant about it. 

Personally I think it's very valuable to tell guests that you would like them the enter the names and email addresses of everyone staying in the "who else is coming" section of the booking. For me, this gets the "paperwork" out of the way before the stay  commences.  I don't ask for ID and I guess it's possible guests could lie about identities of others in their group ( my home can accomodate up to 😎

I also list on teh STAYZ/Homeaway platform and most hosts on there use a rental agreement/contract that they get their guests to sign and return prior to the stay.

Country/city rules and regulations aside, it's really important that you feel comfortable and in control of who's coming/staying at your place.