What to do when Guest books & intends to bring more than #of people on listing

What to do when Guest books & intends to bring more than #of people on listing

Hi,

A guest who seems very nice and has 3 positive reviews booked 2 nights in our 2 room suite that we have listed for 4 people. He said that his party has 3 adults, 2 boys about age 5 and a baby. He said he would bring a crib for the baby. 

The problem is that our suite rooms are small with queen beds. Our home is near the beach with older systems that are delicate. Because of this our listing is for 4 people and assumed it means not more. I'm concerned that having 6 people is too much for our listing but am worried about refusing the booking because how it will effect our ranking with AirBNB. 

Can anyone please offer suggestions on how you would handle this? Should I just let this go and change the listing to prevent this from happening again (is that possible) ? I am new to AirBNB as of June.

Thank you for your suggestions!

Julie

21 Replies 21
Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

Hi, @Julie1036  Airbnb doesn't count children under 2 as guests. Your maximum is set to 4 so your listing can't be booked for more than 2 people over age 2. Also, your listing says it's not suitable for infants. So this must have been an inquiry, not a booking request, right? In that case you can just reply saying you are sorry but your maximum is 4 and your place is not suitable for babies. Then you can just let the inquiry expire.

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

(If somehow it was a booking request, then either that's an Airbnb bug or he misrepresented the number of guests in the request. In either case bring in Airbnb customer support. Declined requests will count against you.)

Hi Lisa,