What would you do?

Lorrie40
Level 1
Rochester, NY

What would you do?

I accepted a reservation because i thought the "family" was coming to spend the weekend on the water. I asked for more details today to personalize their stay and found out it's 8 guys coming for a guys weekend. Asked about boat launch and firewood.  He has communicated well but now i'm concerned that a guys weekend is all that i know of my husbands "guys weekend" and i would not want them at my property!  I'm fairly new to this and realize i should have asked more questions before accepting the reservation. I also don't want to cancel and have that hurt my rating.  Any thoughts?

28 Replies 28
Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Anonymous 

On VRBO, for example, you can set a filter to limit it to people of a certain minimum age. I've got mine set to 30. 

Another platform we've just listed with (fincallorca.de), has same, but you can also set it to only allow booking your listing to certain profiles, such as families, couples, etc. I presume they ask these questions during registration of the guest. 

And I "discriminate" In precisely the same way any insurance company does. Statistically. Any insurance company would charge a much higher rate for say, auto insurance for that demographic. Especially if they have no driving record. 

A group of eight 19-22 year old males are statistically in a very high risk group. I don't think anyone can deny that. Except maybe Airbnb. 

Many of them know this very well, and will say it right up front. And when that happens, I'm listening, will have dialogue, and may request a security deposit. If they agree, I'm happy to let them book it, because they're far, far less likely to be irresponsible when they know they'll lose the deposit. If i don't demand a deposit, it's a free ride. They can do whatever they want with impunity. No penalty.