What would you do?

Lorrie40
Level 1
Rochester, NY

What would you do?

I accepted a reservation because i thought the "family" was coming to spend the weekend on the water. I asked for more details today to personalize their stay and found out it's 8 guys coming for a guys weekend. Asked about boat launch and firewood.  He has communicated well but now i'm concerned that a guys weekend is all that i know of my husbands "guys weekend" and i would not want them at my property!  I'm fairly new to this and realize i should have asked more questions before accepting the reservation. I also don't want to cancel and have that hurt my rating.  Any thoughts?

28 Replies 28
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Lorrie40 

If you cancel, there will be more penalties then only just hurting your rating:

What-penalties-apply-if-i-cancel-a-reservation-for-a-stay

Next time maybe do some more communication before accepting, for now the options are limited : Cancel or Continue.

Or if you fear a party will be held in your house: contact Airbnb (No-party policy) and ask for penalty free cancellation.

Is it ok to provide a forewarning and a reminder about our no party policy?

Pat271
Level 10
Greenville, SC

If the initial booking request said “family”, and it’s in the messages that now it is “8 guys”, you might be able to call Airbnb and have it cancelled because it is not consistent with the info you had when you accepted the reservation. In other words, had you known it was 8 unrelated guys, you wouldn’t have accepted it. Not a guarantee they will cancel it, but worth a try.

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

Forget it. The guest always wins any dispute that doesn't involve admitted terrorism on the part of the guest. 

Unfortunately, you'll just have to live with any consequences of this one. Even if they completely trash the house. It's Airbnb policy. Sorry. 

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD