Who would like to have the feature to filter out local guests?

Nai1
Level 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Who would like to have the feature to filter out local guests?

This might sound to offend Airbnb non-discrimination policy, but I'm curious who would really like to have the option to reject local guests from booking?

Based on our experience local guests caused most of the wear and tear to our properties.

"Sneak-in" parties are also hard to detect and unavoidable...

16 Replies 16

@Nai1, when I was new (meaning, right now), the experienced hosts recommended avoiding local guests.

Imagine my surprise when there was no Instant Book setting for "Avoid Local Guests"

So... that idea sounds cool.

I wonder how one would define "local" from a programming perspective...

Nai1
Level 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Glad you pointed this out! I'm a programmer 🙂 I think this could be easily done by matching the listing country and the country of guest profile.

@Nai1 So if I’m a host in the US, it would not include any guests from the US? That wouldn’t work. Even at a state level would not be good. I don’t mind hosting guests who live in my state. 

Yup. It would probably be a bit tricky for big countries. Didn't think of that one since I come from a relatively small country.

Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

@Nai1

Locals can be a red flag, but they could also have perfectly valid reasons for needing a place to stay and could prove to be good guests.  I have stayed locally on more than one occation because my own apartment was already occupied with airbnb guests.  

Nai1
Level 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

That's a very good point.

Or maybe some feature like local guests have to "Request to book"?