Would you leave an honest review? Could there be negative repercussions in any way?

Angela665
Level 2
Toronto, Canada

Would you leave an honest review? Could there be negative repercussions in any way?

I am new to hosting and I've been really spoiled by our first 5 guests. They've been great, minimal cleanup. Just generally great but I have just had a very bad experience. Definately not worth it I almost feel a bit violated by the way my home was treated. I don't want a retailiatory review and i've also heard a rumor that if a host leaves a bad review they might be lower in the search. I also think that part of the issue might have been a language/cultural barrier (they must have been unable to read the house rules/listing details) as they where foreign students from china I believe..

They arrived two hours before the check in time without any message letting me know they would come early. I wasn't home and they tried to get into the main house (not for rent) where they startled my babysitter who was watching my infant son. They imediately asked her for a permit for their parking or if they could use the garage. The listing clearly states parking isn't included and I can purchase a permit from the city. After my sitter contacted me I got in touch with them and offered to print them a parking permit. They declined and said they would look for free parking somewhere. I just mention this to indicate it's clear they didn't read the listing.