airbnb telling guests if you decline because you are uncomfortable, reduced reasons to decline

Veronika2
Level 3
Emsworth, United Kingdom

airbnb telling guests if you decline because you are uncomfortable, reduced reasons to decline

first of all it is very annoying that there is no option to set certain dates to be available for only guests with positive reviews.

my listing descriptions says that I do not accept bookings for NYE from guests without positive reviews. 

I keep getting inquiries and requests from total newbies that I have to keep declining. one even had the nerve to ask for a disount for NYE!

So today on the UK site, again, I had to decline a request from someone who tried to book. Just registered a few days ago, not introducing themselves etc... 

when I declined I was forced to choose between 4 options why I decline a guests. I did not want the dates to be blocked so I chose 'I am not comfortable with this guests' as the option of 'I am waiting for a better request' or 'not suitable for the guest' is no longer an option. 

So next step I had to do was 'why are you uncomfortable' - I wrote: because they did not read the description saying we do not accept guests without positive reviews for NYE. so far ok...

BUT the next step I was forced to complete to decline said ' we will tell XY that you are uncomfortable with this booking!!!!

Then I had  a chance to message them why.

I think this is really unfair on the hosts and should not be told to guests if we decline because we feel uncomfortable. this could expose hosts to bullying from declined guests.

Also I would had been happy to decline to say the booking is not suitable them instead of saying uncomfortable, but I did not have the option. 

What does any of you think? I am starting to consider airbnb hosting is too much trouble. 

Veronika 

37 Replies 37
Cormac0
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

@Veronika

Some people on here think there running their own business, I think it's a hoot!