best expense tracking app

Geri2
Level 2
Joshua Tree, CA

best expense tracking app

Hi,

I'm looking for suggestions for aps to manage my expenses for tax purposes. Any input is appreciated. 

Thanks,

geri

70 Replies 70
Lisa7
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Geri2 I just use google spreadsheets. Not really that many expenses to track with airbnb. You can manually add them. 

I say this because everything else I've tried doesn't work. Banks don't allow a lot of integration for security purposes. Or there are apps that require you to input everything manually anyway.

If you're interested in more on the spreadsheets, I can tell you how I've set mine up.

I would love to see your spreadsheet if you are willing to share. I have felt the same way about the apps. I am just getting started and I am sorting through my start up costs

Larissa
Lisa7
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Larissa4 I'm not sure if this is what you're looking for, but I simply use a spreadsheet with the following columns:

Date / Guest / Payout / Cleaner / Supplies / Mortgage

Payout = how much Airbnb sends you (+)

Cleaner = cost of your professional cleaner (-)

Supplies = things like sheets, towels, cleaning products, toilet paper, books, etc (-) ** You can add another column next to this to use for notes to specify what the item was. 

Mortgage = or rent (-)

This is not advice for tax purposes. You would have to check to see what your local tax rules say about allowable deductions.

This is simply so I can keep track of money going in/out. I update it maybe twice a month, downloading data from Airbnb and checking my credit-card statements.

Hope it helps.

This is great! My husband and I are just starting out with a rental and I want us to have a simple but accurate way to track guests and dollars. Thank you!

Hi @Lisa7  I don't see the attached spreadsheet you added to your message.

Heather

Hi Lisa! 

Any chance you could share your spreadsheet with me?

Thanks so much, 
Catherine 🙂