guest bad hygiene

Maggie2
Level 2
New York, NY

guest bad hygiene

I have a guest that has just checked in.  He removed his shoes as per my house rules and I was immediately overwhelmed by a horrible foot odor.  This is beyond a typical bad smelly shoe situation- which I am familiar with as an athlete and chef working 15+ hour days in hot and sweaty kitchens.  The smell permeated after he went to take a shower and left the room.  It made me sick to my stomach, and I am not weak about these kinds of things. I'm concerned the smell will permeate my carpets, and mattress in the room in which he is staying- beyond the cost of the room for the night to afford to clean it.    

I have been hosting for about 4 months now and have had about 20 sets of guests from all over the world.  I have never had an issue like this. 

I believe this room was booked using instant book and am considering canceling the reservation under the new instant book cancelation policy if I notice this to be a problem and the smell lingers into the night.   However, when I look back at the reservation details I can't find anywhere verification that the room was booked under instant book.  

Is it worth it to cancel- how can I make sure I can cancel with no penalty under the new instant book policy?

Do you think its worth it to cancel? How can I bring this up to him if at all?  

5 Replies 5
Monica4
Level 10
Ormstown, Canada

It's not bad hygiene. It is a genetic situation that appears in my family passed to sons. Even with washing every day and a twice daily change in socks the feet sweat and emit a horrible odour. Foot powders work. Suggest that to your guest. I am sure that he is aware of his problem but maybe forgot the foot powder. I guess what I am saying is don't automatically assume that your guest has bad hygiene, and it is no reason to cancel a booking.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom