guest last minuet cancellation due to illness

Bex0
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

guest last minuet cancellation due to illness

Hi there,

I am fairly new to Airbnb and find myself in a difficult situation - I wouldappreciate your advice.

I have a moderate cancellation on my apartment. My next guest is due to arrive in 24hrs, They have justed sent me a message saying they will need to cancel due to illness and that his wife will need to go to hospital.

They are asking me to reimburse them.

I want to be fair but also know that renting last minuet in the week during low season isnt going to happen.

Thank you

Bex

16 Replies 16
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Bex0 Don't cancel on the system!  Instead, contact Airbnb and explain the situatiion.  Also the guest should contact Airbnb for reimbursement since Airbnb hasn't paid you yet.  The guest, and you, can use the phone number listed on the guest's itinerary.  

David126
Level 10
Como, CO

It has happened to me, they need to contact AirBnB with evidence. That way they do not get charged the fees as well.

David
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Isn;t this why people have travel insurance?

This has happened to me.  A guest canceled because their son got sick. I had a strict cancellation rule. I felt bad and gave them thier money back. Plus I didn't want a bad review. Rookie minstake on my part?

@Florence-And-Michael0 whether or not  to give a full refund is up to each individual host since they are the ones in communication with the guest. 

But, if a guest cancels, they are not able to leave a review.  So if the reason you gave a full refund was to avoid a bad review, well, yes, I guess that's a rookie mistake.  🙂