journalist requested a booking as a ruse to schedule an interview

Julie478
Level 1
Berwyn Heights, MD

journalist requested a booking as a ruse to schedule an interview

Last night an individual requested a booking, but in his message indicated that he was a reporter and wanted to interview me about hosting on Airbnb. His message:

Hi Julie, I'm a journalist from the University of Maryland and I was wondering if I could do a quick interview with you about running an AirBnb, specifically in Berwyn Heights. I can either do it by phone or email/messaging. It shouldn't take more than a few minutes. Thanks! Hope to hear from you soon, [personal information hidden]

I asked to confirm that he was not interested in booking a room and he responded with:

Sorry for the confusion, but I am not requesting to rent a room, the site just makes you fill out a specific day that you would be interested in renting before you are able to send a message.

I told him that it seemed unethical to reach me this way. What is the sense of others in this group?

Best,

Julie

15 Replies 15
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Julie478

Airbnb makes it impossible for anyone to contact hosts unless they are making a booking enquiry. I would direct the journalist to AirBnB's head office. You don't know whether they are planning a hatchet John b on Airbnb or locals who rent short term, etc

Alexandra224
Level 6
Merida, Mexico

Hey Julie!, i'm a journalist too, and we all have different ways to approach  people, this guy seems that he is going to do what he is going to do.  Airbnb makes it imposible to reach hosts if they are not wanting to book your place, so he said that he needed to fill out as he was going to book a room, even tho he didn't, and he just ended up doing an inquiry.