moderate cancellation policy refund?

Amy677
Level 1
Saint John's, Canada

moderate cancellation policy refund?

Hello, I just had a guest book for 3 nights and cancel after 1 night due to a change in their plans. Airbnb refunded them 100% for the 2 remaining nights but I don't undstand why. If there were extenuating circumstances shouldn't it have said somewhere in the reservation change notification? This is my first time having a guest cancel after one night to I was surprised that it wasn't 50% for the first night and 100% for the second. Am I misunderstanding the policy?

13 Replies 13
Letti0
Level 10
Atascosa, TX

@Amy677  Did they put in the AirBnB messaging system "Change of plans" You should call AirBnB and argue your case for no refund for the 1 day and 50% for the second day. A change of plans is not extinuating circumstances and should not have been refund.

AirBnB number:

United States and Canada

+1-415-800-5959
+1-855-424-7262 (toll-free)

Amy677
Level 1
Saint John's, Canada

They were here for a medical appointment  but when they got to the hospital they told them to go on home and come back in a few weeks (drove 8 hours to get here and are driving back for 8 hours to get home so I feel for them)... maybe that qualifies as extenuating circumstances? They didn't really give a lot of details and I didn't want to pry obviously. I figured that if they had claimed extenuating circumstances that it would say that somewhere on the "change of reservation" request. 

Amy677
Level 1
Saint John's, Canada

Should I call and check anyway do you think just to get clarification or is it too late now that I've accepted the request?

That was not extinuating circumstances. Call!

Amy677
Level 1
Saint John's, Canada

Thank you Letitia, I really appreciate you getting back to me. I've got a call into airbnb and am waiting on a call back 🙂