tax deductions and the new federal tax bills

Mark524
Level 3
Volcano, HI

tax deductions and the new federal tax bills

Hoping someone had a bit more info than I have been able to find! With the new senate and house bills, I’ve heard that we will no longer be able to deduct our expenses for our vacation rental business. We are a sole proprietorship (like I’m assuming most of us are), therefore a pass through business.

thoughts?

14 Replies 14
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Mark524. Interesting observation!  I guess I haven't really paid too much attention since the package hasn't been finalized.  I'm not a sole proprietor strictly speaking, just reporting rental income.  But, in the meantime, I'm saving all my expense receipts!

Edwin57
Level 10
New York, United States

With the way things are going they them self don't know you know what I mean 

@Mark524, first of all, no one knows exactly what will be in the tax bill should it finally become law (not a sure thing).

I did just read an article outlining what currently is in the Senate and House versions of the bill.

I didn't see anything relating to business deductions. (I am assuming you are talking about changing how business deductions work for pass-through tax entities).

It would be extremely unusual to change how normal business spending works. They would have to change the definition of what an valid business expense is.

What specifically did you hear?

See my response to Rene & Zac 🙂

Rene-and-Zac0
Level 10
La Quinta, CA