two names, fishy, and not getting back to questions.

Laura2625
Level 2
Guelph, Canada

two names, fishy, and not getting back to questions.

This is my first time booking someone and they are to show up on Friday at midnight.  I just noticed that while they are using one name on thier profile, they have a different name on thier only review.... 

Plus this is a whole house rental and she just told me that they are coming for spring break, four of them... 

I have sent a message asking questions about the different names as well as the ages of the guests... I am not nessesarily worried about them being young - as I was young once and would NEVER have damaged a place where I was staying.  But there is zero, nada, nothing on the profile and my cousin who is visiting me now said that these things are not really normal.  

Anyone got any ideas?  

What would you do?  

Laura

6 Replies 6
Zacharias0
Level 10
Las Vegas, NV

Trust your instincts. They are telling you what you already know. I always find it weird in a time where we all have our phones on us 24 hours a day that it takes AIRBNB guests DAYS to return our messages and questions and yet they were quick to book the listing. With a whole house booking I would be worried about moving forward with the reservation \. Nope! Sorry I dont feel comfortable. I've yet to be sad I've missed out on money because I cancelled a reservation in where nothing adds up about the reservation. AIRBNB gets paid either way and theyve said many times they dont perform background checks and you take a risk by handing your house keys over to a complete stranger.

Good Luck!

Thank you!  

Kath9
Level 10
Albany, Australia

@Laura2625, I agree with @Zacharias0 , always trust your instincts. Unfortunately, if you cancel them yourself, you will be penalised, so I would contact Airbnb immediately and ask them to cancel - tell them you feel uncomfortable about the mismatching names and the lack of communication.