Breaking house rules

Breaking house rules

Hi fellow Melbourne hosts

What are your thoughts on guests breaking house rules?

I have a guest who is staying for 9 nights and has a boyfriend in Melbourne. When booking she did not mention him, and I told her upon arrival no guests in the house, not even her boyfriend. It is in my house rules on my listing.

I come home and the toilet seat is up (we are both female) so he has been in whilst I was away (unless she was cleaning the toilet but I doubt it!)

What are your thoughts?

Kristie

29 Replies 29

@Teri0 and Aaron

Dear Terri,

You are spot on about the decline of quality of guests booking thru Airbnb

I have been mentioning this to Airbnb for 2 years now but it seems the more global they get, the less they care about hosts.

We have been hosts for 5 years. 1st 3 years went swimmingly. We had a strong vetting process but the fact is the travelers that were most keen to use Airbnb were from a niche market of well traveled people, interested in a home share experience.