Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

Luke52
Level 1
Washington, DC

Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

I have been using the August Smart lock for a few months now, and on paper, it's been great. 

However, more often than not, guests show up at my door without having downloaded the app, much less created an account. August sends an email to all of my guests, but the majority tell me they've never seen it.

As a result, I'm left to guide them through the process of app installation and set up after letting them in. Not a HUGE problem. But, it kind of defeats the purpose of getting a smart lock. 

What have you guys done to encourage your guests to "come prepared". 

70 Replies 70
Denis130
Level 5
Lincoln City, OR

Find August Smart Lock 90% effective filling my security needs, with the remaining 10% being a technical, and guest (resistance) issue where I could conceivably at risk.

Like August's APP being associated with a person's cell phone because they will rarely ever give it away to anyone, including relatives or friends.  A code, even with the keyboard access, can be passed around verbally for the duration of a guest's stay, and as a consequence, there goes the security aspect of the system.   Our development's clubhouse being accessed by a multitude of non-community members teens, who got the code from a buddy at school is but one example on how verbal codes be easily spread.

Because even tech savvy millennials are resistant to adding APPs to their already app loaded phones I found out soon after installing the Smart Lock that I also would need to invest in the keypad access as well.