Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

Luke52
Level 1
Washington, DC

Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

I have been using the August Smart lock for a few months now, and on paper, it's been great. 

However, more often than not, guests show up at my door without having downloaded the app, much less created an account. August sends an email to all of my guests, but the majority tell me they've never seen it.

As a result, I'm left to guide them through the process of app installation and set up after letting them in. Not a HUGE problem. But, it kind of defeats the purpose of getting a smart lock. 

What have you guys done to encourage your guests to "come prepared". 

70 Replies 70

I am using August lock/keypad, together with an Apple TV (4th Generation). I setup the key code in advance and send it to my guests.

The only issue that bothers me is, I can only setup the key code when I am at the door, and not remotely. 

As for Airbnb integretion, I don't really depends on it cause I do create key code for each every one. However, I found it strange that other than the email Airbnb sends (to the guest and copies me), I have no record of who has been invited or setup at all: it's not showing in either airbnb or august app.

A work around that I've done to remotely change the code is change my personal code to the last 4 digits of their phone number then send that to them .After check out I change it to the next person checking in. I find this to be the easiest way when the guests do not download the August home app .

To clarify, are you able to change your personal code thorugh the app as often as you want.  Living out of state of our rentals, I will need to be able to do everyt remotely.  Thank you!

Yes. As long as you have the Smart Lock Pro (the one that comes with a bridge) and the August keypad (so that your guests are able to introduce the code), you can create or change codes remotely, as many times as you want.