How Airbnb helped a couple migrate to Australia

Jason1470
Level 10
Port Hedland, Australia

How Airbnb helped a couple migrate to Australia

x.jpg

G’day, Airbnb friends,

I’m an Indian Australian based in a small mining town in Western Australia. I’ve been an Airbnb guest for quite some time now, and I’m probably one of the few guests who is a part of the online community.

I work full time in the port industry, and the rest of my time is spent chasing butterflies and scaling make-believe mountains with my two rambunctious kids, aged 5 and 3. My wife is a stay-at-home mum, and between the both of us, we live a fairly busy yet pleasurable life, managing our household and raising our kids.

I paint this picture to give you an insight into how my daily life looks like. Not much different from any average bloke, I’d imagine. And yet, despite all this busyness, I dared to pursue a passion that lay buried inside of me for over two decades now - of writing and self-publishing a book.

After years of dogged pursuit and relentless efforts, I’m proud to announce that my debut travel memoir ‘Red Earth Diaries’ is no longer a dream but rather a living reality – the book has just been released on 08 Jul. 21.

Some Background

When my wife, Ambika, and I migrated to Australia in 2014, we decided to backpack across Australia instead of settling down straight away like all other migrants. We set a target of two months or ten thousand dollars. We’d decided to pull the pin as soon we crossed either of these milestones and then focused on settling down. Red Earth Diaries encompasses our journey in this peculiar land, and although it is primarily a travel memoir, it is also a migrant’s journal, a delve into Australian history, and a book aimed to inspire people to chase their dreams.

How Airbnb played a role