Professional photography for new listing best practices?

Answered!
Trung-Dung0
Level 2
Toronto, Canada

Professional photography for new listing best practices?

I'm planning to use Professional Photography service as suggested by AirBnb here: https://www.airbnb.ca/help/article/297

But the first step is to set up my listing which requires 5 photos.

I'm planning to upload 5 photos I take myself which won't be great for various reasons

and then get a professional photographer to do the job in ~2 weeks.

Will I get penalized by AirBnb algorithm or confused guests while waiting for the professionally taken photos?

Can I have put my listing into a paused/ unavailable state to do the necessary setup and only open it up when I'm really ready?

P.S.: I did perform a few searches before asking here but apologies for my ignorance since I'm an absolutely beginner here. Your kindness is appreciated 🙏

1 Best Answer
Trude0
Level 10
Stockholm County, Sweden

Hi, and welcome to the Community Centre!

Most of us hosts use photos that we took ourselves, with our phones. They do just fine, in most cases you don’t need professional photos.

I suggest you take your own photos, include photos of all rooms and of anything relevant. Don’t ”fix” the photos too much, try to portrait your listing as it is - but ensure the natural light is good and the rooms tidy. 

If you later decide to exchange your photos for professional ones, fine. But if your own photos are representative of the space, and guests decide to book, then you should have no issues.

Good luck!

View Best Answer in original post

3 Replies 3
Trude0
Level 10
Stockholm County, Sweden

Hi, and welcome to the Community Centre!

Most of us hosts use photos that we took ourselves, with our phones. They do just fine, in most cases you don’t need professional photos.