A guest left 4 stars but a raving review!

Stephanie2339
Level 1
Harrisburg, PA

A guest left 4 stars but a raving review!

I'm new to hosting and received my first three reviews - apparently one of the guests left us only 4 stars because my rating is 4.33 and I got a nasty gram saying my listing could be removed???? Problem is, all three guests left raving written reviews! Why is 4 stars so bad? 

12 Replies 12
Gillian166
Level 10
Hay Valley, Australia

@Stephanie2339  Hi there, you should probably do some reading here on the many complaints hosts have about the unfair review system. Many of us have guest manuals that have a page explaining the review process, and why a 4* review is actually "bad". 

Gillian - can you link or quote verbiage about explaining the review process to guests and why 4* is actually bad? I bounce in and out of superhost status based on this, and it’s very frustrating. Some guests seem to think they are providing  feedback to me, not actively deterring guests from my listing. 
thanks! 

Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

Also @Stephanie2339 as a new host you might reach out to the guest and ask about the 4 stars to find out what you might need to improve, if anything.  If you end up in a good dialogue with the guest you could educate him about the fact that 4 stars is a bad thing for hosts!  As @Gillian166 noted there is a lot of discussion about this issue:

https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?advanced=false&allow_punctuation=f...

Tony-And-Una0
Level 10
Belfast, United Kingdom

Hi Stephanie,

A four star review is not bad. It's only in Airbnb world that it is considered bad.

I've stayed in many excellent four star hotels.

Some guests just don't give five stars, maybe unless a place is truly amazing.

I've never been a fan of trying to educate guests into leaving five star reviews. It Just seems odd to me.

Some guests will score four stars no matter what you say or do.