Advice

Stephanie-And-Chris1
Level 2
Savegre de Aguirre, Costa Rica

Advice

Hello community,

I am new to hosting and have a situation I am not sure on how to handle best. 

I had a guest reserve 3 nights at 5pm for same day checkin for 2 guests and stated she’d be here at 6-8pm. We reached out multiple times(calling and messaging) and didn’t hear back until 10pm that she wasn’t coming that night. Which was frustrating as we stayed up waiting for her and even went next door to talk to a security guard about a guest maybe coming in late… She stated it was a “mistake” and wanted a refund for that day… being new I was mindful maybe something happened and that’s why she couldn’t make it so I spent time contacting Airbnb to fix it.. Next day she arrives she showed up with an additional guest, which we normally charge for but instead we accommodated the extra guest for no charge… She tells me later that she was headed our way and decided to just stay somewhere for the night after having a fun night.. after checkout she ended up leaving to go boxes of food on the counters, bag of chips shoved in between the sink and wall in the bathroom, water bottles and trash bag on the floor, with a soaking coconut on our wooden tables outside & a broken umbrella. She told my husband that her kid just picked it up and it broke.. she said it was cheap and didn’t offer to pay for it or apologize or anything. My problem is I am new and don’t know how to leave a review but be honest. I feel taken advantage of and lied to for several things. She was nice and her kids seemed well behaved but I also feel like other host should know. 

7 Replies 7
Kevin2205
Level 1
St. Paul, Canada

Be positive. For example.