Can I kick someone out for smoking?

Grace789
Level 2
Ipswich, United Kingdom

Can I kick someone out for smoking?

I really need some advice please.... I am new to air b n b and this is my 5th booking.. However, I had to pop round as the lights weren't working, only to discover a strong smell of smoke and this is after they declared that they were non smokers during the time of the booking. I do not accept smoking anywhere in the house and it was obvious to me they are....

What can I do? Ive been trying to contact air b n b support and had no reply....

5 Replies 5
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Grace789 If they have been there a few days and are leaving soon then the 'damage' is done and it probably won't get worse. You have a few of choices - I am sure there are more:

1) Do nothing other than being prepared for additional de-odorizing at the next change over plus leave a review that the guests broke your rules by smoking

2) Ask Airbnb to cancel the reservation due to guest breaking the rules. You will have to refund remaining days on the stay AND almost guarantee a pair of bad reviews which will hurt you more than the guest

3) Let the reservation finish and then put in a damages claim. This will also guarantee a bad review and Airbnb will be unlikely to pay as smell does not seem to equate to damage that can be claimed for

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@William810 

Potential guests don't have access to the reviews you wrote about other guests. Ony the guest you wrote about and future hosts can see that. 

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

Ok, this is, a bit shifty, but so is what they're doing. So, if you consider all things equal... 

If you make a claim through the resolutions center, unfortunately, it not only will likely be rejected, but the guest will know it, and write a bad review, almost guaranteed. And you can't have it removed.