Can you prioritize someone who inquired, when someone else requests to book?

Answered!
Linda3345
Level 10
Corning, NY

Can you prioritize someone who inquired, when someone else requests to book?

I'm really new at this. Just listed a few days ago, and have been getting bookings and inquiries. (Yay!) 

Today, I had 2 different inquiries, one for a 6 day stay, and one for a week. I answered their questions promptly, and pre-approved them to book.  But they did not book promptly, and meanwhile someone else requested 2 of the days during the longer stays. I did not see any option to contact the first party again, so I went ahead and booked the 2-day stay. 

Is there a way to handle this better, so that I am not missing out on these potential longer stays (the first party contacted me again tonight, about an hour after it was booked to someone else, and would have booked the 6 nights)?   If I had waited longer to accept the request, would I have been able to give it to the first party?   Or does it always have to be actually booked, even if it means I am losing out on the longer stays?

Thanks for helping me figure this part out.

Linda

2 Best Answers
Brian2036
Level 10
Arkansas, United States

@Linda3345 

First you have to understand the difference between an “INQUIRY” and a “REQUEST.”

An inquiry is merely a request for information. You should answer promptly and if they don’t get back to you, which most don’t, forget it.

They probably sent out several inquiries and they’re too lazy and inconsiderate to acknowledge your response.

If it’s a legitimate request to book you can and usually should respond with some questions of your own. You have 24 hours to either accept or decline their request and if they are uncommunicative that’s a good reason to decline.