Cancellation at last minute

Valerie998
Level 2
Middle Duntisbourne, United Kingdom

Cancellation at last minute

Hi I’m quite new to hosting and looking for advice. A couple were meant to be checking in today but when I messaged last night to check their arrival time, the guest informed me her boyfriend’s father was in hospital with a heart attack and they won’t be able to make it. My cancellation policy is moderate ie 5 days but she’s asking if she can have a refund. It’s a busy time for me so I would have been able to fill this space with more notice. I feel a bit mean though! Any suggestions? 

6 Replies 6
Jane563
Level 10
Brighton, United Kingdom

@Valerie998 Tell her to claim off her travel insurance policy.

She’ll say she doesn’t have one. Ask her to cancel the booking and say you’ll refund for any nights you can rebook.

if she’s unhappy with that tell her to take it up with Airbnb.  I believe under their new extenuating circumstances rules, any refund is at your discretion. You don’t have to, she should have taken out travel insurance.

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@Valerie998 I think @Jane563's advice is good, and what I would probably do-- except that your listing is new and since the check-in date has arrived the guest will be able to leave a review. Since you only have a few reviews, one bad one is going to sink your average substantially. Because of that, in this particular case I would refund. Others will disagree, I'm sure.

John5097
Level 10
Charleston, SC

@Valerie998 

If I couldn't get to cancel the reservation themselves, as @Jane563 suggested, I would do as @Lisa723 suggested to avoid really low review.