Cancellation review penalising me

Andrew2243
Level 1
Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Cancellation review penalising me

Hi,

im new to hosting.

I have a Devon property which has been listed for the first time.

I have received few bookings ( which is unusual as the price and current demand shouldn’t affect this)

I think it’s because a few years ago I listed my mothers flat  but had to cancel a few bookings at short notice owing to water damage.

it was never resisted and no one ever stayed at the property.

I think this early experience is penalising me.

can these be removed in anyway?

6 Replies 6
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Andrew2243  Unfortunately not: they are permanent. 

I had a very similar thing happen to me: I had my listing go live accidentally and someone instant booked before I was ready to go. It's the very first review I have as a host. Embarrasing, but definitely not something that has to ruin your listing. I've had about 400 bookings since then: if you're priced competitively in a decent market, you will likely still receive bookings. Take your first few bookings at a lower price, get some good reviews under your belt, and people likely won't even go digging into your profile to see that. 

You don't say when you published your listing. Things are just opening back up in England: I would give it a couple of weeks before you get too worried. 

There is one alternative, and let me be clear: I don't think it's a very good idea. You could delete your current profile and start again. The problem is that if you get caught by Airbnb you can be permanetly banned.