Critique my listing - Ashley in Horseheads, NY

Ashley1186
Level 3
Horseheads, NY

Critique my listing - Ashley in Horseheads, NY

9b556abd-0119-4564-8e2f-a972035cea03.jpeg

Hello! I am new to hosting and I was hoping someone can critique my listing? I would love to learn ways to improve it! 😊-Ashley

Here is the link: https://airbnb.com/h/hardinghomescorning

11 Replies 11

@Ashley1186   You're off to a great start with the nicely organized photos, and the descriptions are a good balance between thorough and concise.  

If you intend to charge pet fees, your listing should be explicit about the pricing structure - how much per pet, and whether it's a flat fee or a nightly fee. 

The procedure for damage claims isn't quite as you describe, starting with the fact that Airbnb confusingly doesn't actually charge the so-called "deposit," and the amount you put in that field has no bearing on the outcome of a resolution request. It's fine to ask that people notify you if something breaks and just leave it at that.

@Anonymous  Thank you so much for your feedback! I will definitely make those adjustments, I appreciate you taking the time to look at my listing and offering advice! 

Kia272
Level 10
Takoma Park, MD

@Ashley1186 I don't know your local market or what price would keep you competitive in that market, but your price seems exceedingly low for what you're offering. I'm seeing $129 for the whole property. That's about $16/guest if the house was actually booked for 8 people. 

Would you consider structuring your pricing for 4-5 guests, and then charging more for additional guests? 

I think the existing pricing encourages parties, or groups that you might not want. I have found that being on the higher end of the local market attracts a better class of guest.