Do I give partial refund?

Lisa5987
Level 2
Louisville, KY

Do I give partial refund?

Hi all, 

I'm fairly new to hosting and have an issue with a recent stay. This was a guest that stayed during the most lucrative time of year for airbnb where I live. I am new so was priced conservatively lower than most places in the area. At the end of the stay she mentioned the thermostat was not working (it was mid to high 70's the entire stay) and she was cold at night. I did check in that first day to tell her to let me know of any questions or concerns but there was no mention of this until checkout. She is now asking for partial refund. I was minutes away and could have resolved issue quickly if I knew there was one. Is she correct in asking for refund even though Temps were not cold and my place was priced lower? 

20 Replies 20
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Lisa5987 

It is not relevant if your price was lower then others.

The guest should have mentioned the issue to you during her stay.

She did not, so you could  not resolve it. So no partial refund.

Thank you. This was my gut feeling on this too. I even offered discount on future stay. I appreciate the guidance!

Hi @Lisa5987 

Welcome to the community 😊

No, I opposed reimbursement.

@Nina75  pointing it out corresponding.

Happy Hosting ✌️

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Lisa5987 I agree with @ Emiel1. Below is the general refund policy. Have a read, so you are familiar with it.

https://www.airbnb.ca/help/article/2868/airbnb-guest-refund-policy

Thank you! Makes sense.  I appreciate the information!

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Lisa5987  I really don't agree with some hosts' tendencies to throw money at a guest for any perceived inconvenience. Many think it will avoid a bad review, but it seldom does- guests who appear to be scamming for a refund are the type of people who leave bad reviews even when you cave to their demands.