Does anyone else feel bad leaving bad reviews?

Raul437
Level 1
Palmdale, CA

Does anyone else feel bad leaving bad reviews?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first year being a host and I have had a lot of great guests but also a few bad apples. I just want to know if anyone else feels bad leaving them bad reviews? I look at people's reviews before I approve guests so I know the importance of leaving an honest review but I feel a bit evil leaving bad reviews. I have had a couple of people who have left my house like a trash can and it is so upsetting but I don't know why I feel bad saying something negative.

Am I the only weird one?

11 Replies 11
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Raul437 It’s never pleasant having to leave a negative review, but no, I don’t feel ‘bad’ about doing it, as there is no evil in being honest about bad behavior. Do you think the guest who left your place a trash can felt bad about doing that to you? Probably not, or they wouldn’t have done  it. We all benefit from honesty in reviews. Don’t overthink it, and take the emotion out of it.

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Raul437 We have only had two instances of an apartment being left full of rubbish/recycling. We mentioned this in the reviews but also made it clear that there was no damage caused. My suspicion is that some hosts are more tolerant than others - Also when some of your guests leave the place almost as clean as when they arrive a mess, at first sight, is quite shocking but actually only adds about 10 minutes to the cleaning.

And to answer your original question - One of these guests was otherwise perfect and yes it felt bad to leave a slightly negative review.

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Raul437