First guest today, but haven't received a message from the guest

Jessica2690
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

First guest today, but haven't received a message from the guest

Hello!! I'm new here. I was so excited to welcome my first guest today and I spent the last 2 nights making sure everything is perfect, especially since it's my first time doing this!

Checkin was from 2pm and it's now past 7pm and I can see my message to the guest hasn't even delivered on WhatsApp, plus no reply on the Airbnb platform. Trying not to stress about it, I feel like a worried mom. 😂

I think it's just nerves and my OCD getting to me. Has this happened to anyone?

All the best to any first-time hosts, excited to be part of this community now (my long-time dream). ❤️

Also comment below any advice you have for us newbies!

7 Replies 7

@Jessica2690 Some guests don't understand that an Airbnb isn't like a hotel with a 24-hour check-in desk. I completely stopped using the term "check-in" with guests, because it gives the wrong idea about how it works. Instead, when confirming a booking I would tell them how much notice I needed to schedule their arrival (like an appointment). If they neglect to respond in time, I switch from asking mode to telling mode: "since I didn't get the information I needed to plan for your arrival, the only arrival time window I will be able to accommodate is [last hour of listed check-in window]. "  Your might consider adding a cutoff time to your check-in, if you're not prepared to welcome guests at 3 AM.

The date of guests' arrival is usually the hardest time to reach them, as they're in transit and might not be able to get online. Delays are pretty normal, so I wouldn't assume anything bad happened, but this is a good reason to make sure all the important communication is locked down before the arrival date.

Dale711
Level 10
Paris, France

Hi @Jessica2690