Giving a negative Review

Giving a negative Review

Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to hosting and for the first time I've had a guest leave my place in a real mess which is quite sad. Now I have to write a review and although I will be honest in my review I don't want to be too negative in such a public forum. However, I do want to write a Private Note to tell my guest that i am disappointed and point out where she could have improved  so my question is, does the Private note get delivered immediately or only when both guest and host have both written their reviews? Thanks for any guidance you may have. Thanks.

14 Replies 14
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Sian-And-Griff0 

The private message is delivered to the guest when the review(s) is/are posted .

(after 14 days or when host and guest both completed there review)

From the help-files:

"As part of the review process, you’ll also have the option to leave private feedback for your host or guest. These private comments are shared at the same time that the reviews are posted."

@Emiel1 in Leeuwarden

Thank you so much for your reply x

Hi @Sian-And-Griff0 

Welcome to the community 😊

@Emiel1  has pointed out correctly.

Honest reviews are much appreciated ✌️

Happy Hosting!

@Dale711 

Thank you!

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Sian-And-Griff0  Please be honest in your public review. The purpose of leaving reviews for guests is to let other hosts know what your experience was with the guest. If this is a guest you wouldn't want back, other hosts need to be warned so they have info to decide whether of not to accept the guest.

A review can mention issues without being harsh. And you can balance it by mentioning any positives, if there were any. So for instance "Good communication, followed house rules, but cleaning time required after this guest was far beyond normal."

Try not to think of reviews in terms of negative or positive, but as being honest.