Guest requesting additional information

Guest requesting additional information

Hello! My name is Lorena.

I'm new to hosting and recently added a listing on airbnb that's in Mexico. I live in the US, and the guesthouse listed is on my Grandma's property. I got an booking inquiry and the person who is going to be my guest had many questions and requests. I'm just wondering how far is too far with her inquiries. She's requested to go outside the app for payment due to the taxes and fees, she also requested my grandmother's full name and phone #, and the last thing is the account # for the wifi we installed, per her request. I can understand the request for my grandmother's information as the listing is on her property, but grandma doesn't speak any English and the guest speaks limited Spanish, so I'm not sure what help it's going to be ? I'm also getting uncomfortable with the other information being requested. Is it too much? Please help as I'm conflicted and honestly just don't know what to do or how to move forward with her. She booked a month on the app but is hopefully wanting to stay 5 months total, paying 4 months outside of the platform.

TIA

14 Replies 14
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Any guest asking to pay outside of Airbnb and wanting your contact outside of airbnb raises major red flags.

if it's an inquiry decline the booking and report the guest to airbnb 

@Helen3  Declining an Inquiry isn't necessary and lowers one's stats. All the host has to do on an Inquiry is message back.

Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY