How to get a manual read

Laura5631
Level 2
Blacksburg, VA

How to get a manual read

I am currently renting out two of the three bedrooms in the house where I'm living.  I simply cannot get guests to read my house manual or to obey my no shoes rule.  I have floors that are over 100 years old so that's essential.  Only one guest seems to have been able to get into my house despite me sending out the manual with instructions a few days in advance.  It has stuff like WiFi, parking, which door to use and how to find the rooms.  The guest that just arrived walked into my room on the 2nd floor even though his is on the first floor and there are directions for that...with his shoes on.  Now I'll have to clean the floors again and a work call was interrupted.  

I'm afraid if I ignore the messages, I'll get horrible reviews, but if I'm at work (I'm a travel night-shift nurse but between gigs at the moment) or sleeping I need to make sure that they can actually get in and follow the bedroom assignments.  I'll be super pissed if someone is asleep in my bed or I have to do laundry/change the sheets at 8 in the morning when I get home.

No I cannot install specialty locks on my doors due to the antique doors/knobs/locks.  Yes I have a proper lock on the main entry door and all guest rooms can be locked from inside.  My door has, unfortunately, got only a chain lock on the inside of one of the two doors due to weird architecture.

10 Replies 10
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Laura5631 

Maybe label your room (sticker) ? :

Friendly:

Emiel1_0-1659653700151.png

or even more strict:

Emiel1_0-1659654084777.png

or extreme:

Emiel1_1-1659654180406.png

@Emiel1 The “Warning” sign is PRICELESS!  I wish I could post that one at work. Of course, I would be carted off to the loony bin.

Deb216
Level 10
Newport, RI

Screenshot_20220805-151959_Airbnb.jpg

Deb216
Level 10
Newport, RI