How to stop rules breaking without financial deterrent?

How to stop rules breaking without financial deterrent?

Hello

I am new to hosting. Hoping you experienced peeps can advise me.

Firstly.  I don’t live near the property but I do have help/ family / handyman near by. 
Most guests have been respectful

just had a few groups making noise outside and the neighbours are sending me audio files/ photos of lots of cars in the driveway (they obviously had more people turn up)

I called guest immediately to turn it down/ go inside which she did but after 2 weekends of constant noise the neighbours are, understandably, really upset (we have a pool so there is splashing/ laughing / drinking noise all day long and then chatting laughing all evening) they are working from home and elderly so I do understand their complaint.

so I have decided to reduce occupancy and prioritise families and I was going to make the security deposit really high so if they break the rules they loose it (would be a massive deterrent to future parties / rule breaking) but understand the security deposit only covers damages. My rules are clear and precise and I greet all guests and vet them heavily / take off instant book. How have others managed this? Thank you in advance. 

3 Replies 3
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Victoria1394 I trust you are aware that Airbnb neither collect the security deposit nor do they even reserve the amount on a guests credit card. It gives, I am afraid, just a false sense of security

Nick
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Welcome to the Community @Victoria1394 . Just a heads-up I moved your post in our "New to Hosting" board as I think this might result in more replies and useful advice. Thank you 🙂 

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

@Victoria1394  first I am in love with your dollhouse of a cottage. So. CUTE.