Introduction...and search query

Steve2889
Level 2
England, United Kingdom

Introduction...and search query

Hi all,

I'm very new to this and have just listed my property for the first time. I've blocked out most of my calendar temporarily to allow myself to find my way around the dashboard settings etc.

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/48909423?_set_bev_on_new_domain=1620024167_MjU4MDVhMjVlMjk5&source_im...

When I sign out of my account and do a search for places to stay in the area my listing only appears if I have more than 2 guests in the search filter. Although the property can sleep up to six, it means that if a couple or two people wish to rent my property it won't come up on their search. Am I missing something here?  Any advice much appreciated, thanks.

Steve

17 Replies 17
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Steve2889 

First piece of advice - Unblock your calendar quickly. Airbnb give you a boost in the search results when the property is new and you will be missing out on this at the moment.

Secondly - I don't know how your pricing works (too any to look) but in some respects missing out on 2 people when you could get 6 is actually a good thing.

I'll stop being lazy now and look at your listing!

Thanks for your reply! I will be unblocking my calendar as soon as I feel confident I understand everything...soon I hope! As far as house guests are concerned, the price per night is the same whether 1,2,3,4,5 or 6 are staying. The less guests and bed-changing and clearing up the better as far as I'm concerned 🙂 I also worked out that it does come up on a search for two people if you have an Airbnb account (I tried using my wife's account) but if I log out and do a search without being logged in, it only comes up if I enter 3 guests or more in the search criteria. Strange and slightly annoying!

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

I agree unblock your calendars but remove IB so you can vet guests before accepting bookings @Steve2889