Missing item

Erika741
Level 2
Christchurch, New Zealand

Missing item

Hi, all. I am new to here. I have been hosting for 2 months and got 3 bookings so far. Today customer checked out my unit. They left my unit extremely clean even vacuum themselves. But they took saucepan with them(I can't find anywhere). I tried to contact to them but they not answer me. However they gave me really positive feedback and now I am bit confused. I don't know what should I do now. I already gave them negative feedback which I really didn't want to. They was so nice while staying with us. (I am living upstairs of acommodetion)

Does anyone have same experience that guest was so nice and friendly and give really nice feedback to you but they steal something from your guest room?! 

17 Replies 17
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Erika741 

It is always tricky to accuse a guest of theft when something is missing.....

I read your review on the guest profiel and IMO at least the sausepan issue could be less emphasizing. .You could have used private feedback (part of the review feature) and if no response even can put a public comment on their review in next weeks.

What is the value of the sausepan ? I always calculate "losses" or "damages" against what i have earned.

If it is not a big issue, l consider it as costs of doing business.

Erika741
Level 2

Thank you for your advice. Saucepan was  just NZ$20. Its not expensive one.

I didn't know about private feedback..... But I think I can't change my feedback anymore after published in public. Or is there any way I can change to private?!

@Erika741 You can’t change your review now that’s it’s been posted. You can always ask Airbnb to remove it if you want, as you authored it. 

Going forward, don’t be in a rush to review. You have 14 days from check out. You could have waited to hear back from the guest about the missing item.

Erika741
Level 2