Need encouragement

Dorothy206
Level 2
Sugar Land, TX

Need encouragement

I am new to hosting and am almost ready to start renting out. I have read numerous situations from many about complaints they have dealing with renters trashing their place or the difficulties in getting Airbnb to assist with damages.  Is it worth the hassle? I’m sorta getting discouraged and I haven’t even started yet. Can someone give me some positives about renting out please. 

22 Replies 22
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Dorothy206  What you have to realize is that for the most part, hosts come to this forum and others when they have a problem. So you are only seeing a small slice of experiences here. Most hosts don't come here to say that they have been hosting for years and never had a problem. Yet that is true for many, many hosts, if not the majority.

Now of course there will always be small or large issues a host has to deal with. Maybe the guest wasn't trying to do anything wrong, but just didn't realize they couldn't bring an extra person. That happened to me, but the guest and I worked it out with no hard feelings.

Maybe your water heater breaks down and the guests have no hot water for a day. You deal with it.

Not every issue has to be something that requires looking for Airbnb intervention, or having guests demanding refunds, or leaving bad reviews, or trashing the house. In fact, most situations don't. Most stays go fine, most guests are fine.