New to hosting in Los Angeles

Answered!
Stella465
Level 2
Los Angeles, CA

New to hosting in Los Angeles

Hi, I'm Stella located in Los Angeles. I'm new to hosting on Airbnb. Just listed my home yesterday and would love to learn from everyone here. https://airbnb.com/h/midcenturymodernloft Not sure how to get started on getting the first guest to book - how can I encourage people to get over the "this listing has no review" concern and book?

1 Best Answer

@Stella465  I agree your furniture designs are great (I'm an upholsterer myself). But you will soon find out that guests aren't nearly as careful with things as you would hope.

I made some new slipcovers for a client whose place was rented out most of the year when they weren't using it themselves. They wanted white (yes, the light, airy look), which I tried to talk them out of, but they insisted. The first set of guests after the new covers went in had someone in their group who decided the white couch was the perfect place to sit while applying their blue nail polish. There were spots of blue nail polish all over the sofa. 

Luckily, the covers were made of Sunbrella fabric, which you can actually use acetone on without damaging it, so the cleaner managed to get most of it out.

Another client who also insisted on white had guests spill red wine on the brand new sofa cushion, flipped it over and never mentioned it, as if she'd never notice.

Re the lock- there is nothing wrong with using a smart lock,  it just should be something that the guests can be sent a code to, rather than having to download an app to use. Plenty of hosts use smart locks that the host can change the code on remotely, but guests only need the programmed number. Not everyone uses a smart phone, believe it or not, and a guest's phone could be out of charge, or not be getting a signal. As long as you provide an alternative if necessary, you're good.