New to hosting.

New to hosting.

Jake here. I'm new to hosting. I just listed a limestone home in our small town this week.

So, I already have a question. I have several people who have booked and I am grateful for that. I have one lady who has asked for a discount for a longer stay. I have given her 3 special offers so far and she hasn't booked. Every time it's for less days. How should I respond if she doesn't take the offer.

8 Replies 8
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Jake-And-Ashlee0 

If you sent special offer by "special offer" button, let her know the offer will expire (or be retracted by you) within xx hours.

If the offer was only communicated in the message system,just stop communication.

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Jake-And-Ashlee0  Something you should know is that guests who start out asking for discounts are giant red flags who often turn out to be very problematic guests. And that bad guests target new listings, assuming you will not be hip to a lot of things.

Also, I'm not sure what you mean by "longer term" in this case, but taking long term bookings through Airbnb is not a good thing to do- there are no protections for you and after 28 days or a month, the guest becomes a tenant in most jurisdictions, subject to landlord/tenant laws. Stick with short term bookings for now. You also need to build up reviews, and long term bookings won't accomplish that.

Your place is really cool. I love how the interior walls are decor in itself.  I would dress up the bedroom walls a bit with some artwork, as it looks a bit barren there and maybe I just can't see it in the photos, but it seems like one of the bedroom windows and all of the living room windows have no curtains. Guests like to be able to close curtains at night,  so they don't feel they're living in a fishbowl, and many hate getting woken up early by light streaming in the bedroom windows.