Newbie here! Asking for advice on long term request!

Seann63
Level 2
Gastonia, NC

Newbie here! Asking for advice on long term request!

Hello! My listing just went live today, and within the first few hours I received a request for a very long term stay (June-Aug) 

the person making the request has 3 reviews (but to be fair we are brand new so we have none!). 

My question is; what is the correct way of vetting this request? What questions should I ask, is it appropriate to ask for a phone call?  A deposit? Is this a common scam or am I being too cynical?

thank you in advance!

8 Replies 8

This is harder than it used to be. In the old days you could chat, get to know them, friend them on FB, etc. Now - everything is withheld before booking.

Before you "accept" the reservation you need more information. But any attempt to get it will be blocked. At one point we had a new user with no reviews who just signed up that day try to send her phone number. It kept getting erased by Airbnb. Even the names of her family coming with her (husband and son). So we traded phone number one post at a time. After talking on the phone we were laughing and sharing tips and we hosted her. It was three months into lockdown and she was going stir crazy living on a farm and wanted a place closer to the city for her young son to explore. She's now a friend. But it's stupid you have to find work-arounds for Airbnb's weird policy. You can't send them an email and Airbnb won't give you their data until they are booked (stupid, stupid, stupid). So proceed cautiously.

You could say you'll temporarily approve the request so you both can figure out if this is a fit. If not, the guest can cancel or you can within the first day at no penalty.