Taxes

Joni113
Level 2
Lincoln, NE

Taxes

Hello,

I am new to hosting and I just realized that I did not list taxes (Sales/Use and Occupancy, heck there might be others) on my listing.  I live in Lincoln, NE. I have ready articles telling me how to add the taxes but the option is not there for my listing. Am I doing something wrong? Is this already being done for me?

Taxes scare me so I want to make sure I am doing this correctly.

How does this affect already made reservations also?

Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks.

9 Replies 9
Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Joni113   On a computer, log into AirBnB as a host and go to your listing.  Go to the Pricing and Availability section, and then click on Taxes.  Click on the Edit link to the right of the Taxes entry.

IF AirBnB IS charging, collecting and remitting taxes for your jurisdiction, it will be listed here.  

IF AirBnB is NOT collecting taxes for your location, you will have to enter the tax percentages you need to collect and report.  If you do not know what they are, you should be able to locate that information on your state government pages, or you should make an appointment with a tax professional.

Air Taxs Screenshot 2022-03-26 094819.jpg

That is the thing I do not even have a "Taxes" section when I go into my listing and then Pricing and Availability.  I saw some place that it should be right after the "Additional Charges" section but I have nothing.

I am nervous that I should be charging as I have to pay taxes back to the state every quarter here in NE and I have looked at other listing in my city and they some how have taxes listed. Should I call Airbnb?