Untruthful reviews - common or not?

Aleksandra200
Level 1
Berlin, Germany

Untruthful reviews - common or not?

Hi!
I'm an economics student at the Technical University in Berlin. For my master thesis I'm looking at the prevalence of fake reviews on Airbnb. It is well known that there are a lot of untruthful reviews on Amazon, and that they have a meaningful economical impact on the sellers and buyers there. There is however not much research done on the other platforms.

If you are an Airbnb host, then I'd be grateful if you spared 5 minutes to answer my questionnaire. I'd like to get representative data, so I'm looking for answers from all hosts, also those who have never even heard about this topic. The survey is of course completely anonymous and I'm not asking for any data that could be used to identify you, except for an optional email address at the end of the survey, which you can provide if you would like to receive the results of my research. 

Here's the link:
https://forms.gle/PdqsDtbU9vyUs4WR6

4 Replies 4
Brian2036
Level 10
Arkansas, United States

@Aleksandra200 

I was going to answer your questionnaire and I started, but when I came to questions for which no appropriate answer was allowed, I quit and erased the results.

I have never heard of anyone “buying” or soliciting false reviews. I haven’t done it, I wouldn’t do it, and I don’t intend to ever do it.

And if other people are doing it I hope they are deeply ashamed. I don’t want to hear about it.

You need to get rid of the “have you stopped beating your wife” questions if you want to produce significant statistics.

You would be more likely to elicit useful data if you asked about “revenge reviews.”  This is very common.

Guests use the review process to threaten hosts who try to enforce the rules, extort unwarranted refunds, damage the competition, or just out of plain meanness.