Are guests getting more difficult?

Catherine281
Level 3
Sutton-under-Whitestonecliffe, United Kingdom

Are guests getting more difficult?

Hi, I have been hosting for over 6 years on multi properties now and have found the guests are getting more demanding. Is anyone else finding that? Literally, one last guest seemed to think I was both a concierge and also at their beck and call re extra towels, etc. I provide a super-sized bath sheet - which comes from a professional laundry and costs me £2 per sheet - per guest - what do you go when a guest asks for another one? Up till now, I have given one but margins are so tight now that I am going to stop. However, you then run the risk of a bad review. I think guests know that they can just ask and ask these days with the threat of a bad review in the air otherwise...and f hosting is your profession risks losing super host and prominent listings/ Do you think Airbnb has shifted to wanting guests more than hosts....

59 Replies 59

This observation has been coming up throughout the services industries over the last two years. A couple of possible reasons :

1. All of the restrictions and other concerns around the pandemic have pushed customers away from their preferred habits, and into situations that aren't optimized for them. That traveler who would normally go to a beach resort or a cruise for holiday but had to settle for an Airbnb cottage closer to home is the paradigmatic pandemic tourist driving Airbnb's recent growth, but hosts aren't set up to cater to their demands. 

2. More broadly, people's behavior in service settings tends to reflect their emotional state in life in general. When unhappiness and stress increase, rude and demanding attitudes go right along with it.