Bugs in the towel? Bites that look like Mosquito bites or hives?

Bugs in the towel? Bites that look like Mosquito bites or hives?

Hi all,

I've been hosting for 3 years now and keep all my rooms really clean, but a current guest of mine who has been staying for a week now reported to me last night that she received a few bites while in the room she's staying in. The bites look like mosquito bites or hives, not bed bugs so I felt a bit reassured that this may go away after she clean the towels and sheets. Today, she updated me that she found the bug and sent me this picture:

8a671fca-d259-4aff-9336-c67ef1d9eb1d.jpeg

Does anyone know what that is?

Please advise if anyone has experience with this. To be honest, this is quite stressful thinking about the worse case (whether guest will sue me, future of reservations, and the guests in the 3 other bedrooms that are in the same house).

Providing a refund for her remaining stays is something I don't mind at all. I'm also planning to be transparent and to share that there may be some sort of bug with the other guests in the same house. 

I also came across this thread that seems to talk about bed bug scams though I don't feel like the guest has been pushy about things, but rather concerned about her bites and contaminating her belongings.

https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/Help/Bed-Bug-Scam/m-p/1320587#M286119

26 Replies 26
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Having bed bugs doesn't relate to how clean you keep your place @Henley0 

if you think you have bed bugs get an expert to come and check.

have a look at Airbnbs policy on insect infestations  you will need to get your place fumigated and allow at least two weeks between guests .

you can't have other guests continue to stay if you have bed bugs 

do you have any reason to think she's scamming you ? 

Thanks Helen. That's good information.

I don't have any reason to think she's scamming me other than paranoia. 

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada