Dogs, dogs, dogs....

Steve3189
Level 3
Bristow, VA

Dogs, dogs, dogs....

I'm new to this, in the new person area so I think I have the right spot.

I bought a place in a busy summer town in Maine.    My policy is no dogs, which is the same policy as the guy I bought the place from.   I'm told I shouldn't have a problem getting bookings, but of course I'm a little anxious.   It's only January, though. 

I'm on a Facebook group where people look for places in the area, and it's nothing but questions about "pet friendly".   I've already had at least 2 queries through AirBNB from people that want to bring pets.   

I have a couple of dogs myself and I don't want them in my place.  I know how much they shed.  

Should I reconsider my policy or hold firm?   Also, nobody can leave a review for you if you decline an offer, right?  (She wanted to bring a dog and asked for 6 nights, when my summer plan is 7 nights).

Thanks

9 Replies 9
Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom

@Steve3189 we do just fine with our no pet policy. We could possibly do a bit better if we allowed them but at what cost to our cleanliness score and potential damage!

No people can't review just because you decline a booking request.

Finally be aware to differentiate between a booking request and a booking enquiry. The latter just needs responding to you do NOT have to decline/accept even though the website tries to make you do so.

Patricia3334
Level 7
Tennessee, United States

I opened up my downstairs level 3 weeks ago.  I allow dogs bc I love them and when I travel I wish they were with me. That said: I haven't had any problem yet, ie.  extra expense, damage. Not to say it will never happen. I also have a fenced in yard just for the lower level.

My bookings have been pretty steady. 

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico